Small Painting Summer

This may have to extend into the fall. I’ve had such a great time with smaller paintings this summer. It began with the commission of “Connectivity” shown below. There has also been the start of the “Wonder of birds” series, one of which is in the Onimatopoetic show at MIX Ypsilanti for the month of September. A group of 18″ square figure portraits have developed. So many in fact, that I’ve sworn not to begin any new ones until I finish some up. The studio is becoming littered with little figures. 

I had hoped to move toward landscapes and take some with us on our weekly hikes. That just hasn’t turned out to be the case. Both my current visual interests this season and my partner’s bad knee have played a part in that. It hasn’t kept me from working though, and enjoying the result. More images to come. 

  Connectivity, 2016     Acrylic on canvas      Commission

Leave a Reply

